K2inCanada's Blog

April 25, 2010

Translations – do I really still know German?

Filed under: Canada, Germany, Home — K2 in Canada @ 3:58 AM
A friend asked me last week if I could translate a German document into English for him. It was some structural engineering report. I figured there will be a few technical words I won’t know but I could likely describe them in a way that my friend who is an engineer can understand the content. And so he did. BUT I am ashamed to say that it took me forever and I looked up most of the words – not only the technical ones. It seems that once I started to look up some words my brain got more and more lazy and instead of thinking about the translation I just quickly typed it into my online dictionary. I did learn a couple new words by 90% should have come to mind without looking them up.
I can converse in both languages okay (although my friends in German might not agree with that any longer) but I can’t translate one into the other in my head – weird.
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

