K2inCanada's Blog

September 25, 2011

I am trying to become a curler…

Filed under: Canada, Home — K2 in Canada @ 9:50 PM

Well, I curled once before… and Jeff’s parents were there to witness it. Nevertheless they asked us if we want to put a team together this winter for one of the beginner leagues. The season starts next Sunday evening. So this Friday we went out for a practice session – and yes it is just as difficult as I remembered (even though it looks easy on TV). Sor far balance is the trickiest part – I am sure there is more to come like aim, weight etc. – but I am happy enough if I don’t do a face plant on the ice nevermind where the rock ends up. Why do I always pick sports that require balance? Well, it only took me 8 years and counting to get my balance in a kayak, I am still working on staying up on cross-country skis so this fits right into it….

Oh and I didn’t think one could get sore from curling. How much muscles do one use to push a smooth rock down a slippery ice surface – apparently A LOT. Neck, shoulder and legs!!!! Good thing I had all weekend to rest.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

