K2inCanada's Blog

January 1, 2013

Day 1: From the City of Rain to Princeton – Manning (Dec 22)

Filed under: BC Ski Trip 2012, Canada, Ski, Travel — K2 in Canada @ 9:56 PM

Get ready for posts of our 11 day cross-country ski trip through southeastern BC with a short excursion in AB. Here is day 1…

The alarm at 7AM came way too early. So I curled myself up under the warm blanket for another 30min. We had planned to leave at 8:30 to meet John G in Manning around 11. Needless to say we were a bit late leaving. I still wanted to call my parents, dishes needed to be done and the car had to be packed up. But hey we were only 15min late leaving. I still felt under the weather but was so sick of being sick that I tried to not let it get to me. The drive to Manning was relatively quick, 2hrs20min, the road being pretty much free of snow the whole way. Sky was mostly overcast although the sun tried to come out by the time we arrived at Manning Resort. Even though Manning is so close to home, this is the first time we skied here. Last time we were in Manning was for New Years of 1998 or so. We were camping at Lightning Lakes in Jeff’s old VW camper “Babes”. It was a very cold night – the coke froze in the bottle but the champagne luckily did not. But we did have to cut ourselves out of the van the next morning as the doors had frozen shut. But back to 2012. This time, we skied. I put on my crowns thinking I need to take it easy. To see how things will go, we did an easy loop to the Beaver Pond first – very level trail and lots of double poling. Was nice and I felt okay as long as I went slow and steady. The boys were going for the big loop up to the lift and I figured I may try that as well. Only 10km one way – should be okay. But that one way was all up. Nothing really steep or crazy but up. And up was hard. My lungs didn’t like that and I had to take it really slow. Nevertheless, I made it pretty much up to the top. Just had to turn around before I got to enjoy the nice flat parts on top. But I was already out there for about 2hrs….and still had 8.5km to go back to the lodge. Lucky for me most of it was downhill. The few climbs felt like mountains. Well, I guess that’s what you get after 1 week of being sick and no activities other than blowing my nose and coughing my lungs up. I really liked the trail system at Manning though. Definitely have to come back when I am fitter again. Nevertheless, I managed to be on my skies for 3hrs15min and did 22km in total. Not bad for day 1 of 11.

Before hitting the road again we grabbed some food at the “Bear Den Pub” which we washed down with some dark ale while sitting around the fireplace. We left John behind to give the hot tub a go while Jeff and I continued on with our road trip.

Our final destination for tonight was Princeton. I was hoping for a nice hot tub as well but the motel we stayed at (Villager Motel) only advertised a “heated” outdoor pool which was full of snow :-). But we did get the room with the best bed!! Usually mine workers/contractors stay at this motel but due to the mine running out of the 2012 budget everyone has been sent home till the new year/new budget. The Copper Mountain Mine is located 20 km south of Princeton. The Mine commenced production in the summer of 2011 and is planned to produce 100 million pounds of copper per year (for the first 12 years) plus precious metals such as silver and gold. We skipped a mine tour though and even though it was still early – only 5PM we crashed in front of the TV to recover. But that didn’t work that well since my legs wanted to cramp up the whole time. So eventually we did a night walk through town. It was probably about 9:30PM but not a soul was on the road. Maybe a couple of cars drove by. But the town looked quite pretty with everything covered in snow and buildings and trees lit up by Christmas lights.

3 Comments »

  1. Beautiful shots!

    Comment by sethsnap — January 1, 2013 @ 11:21 PM

  2. Gosh – your pictures are so good, it almost makes snow look appealing!

    Comment by Krista — January 2, 2013 @ 10:09 PM

  3. Awesome, what a cool trip! I hope we can do a XC trip with you guys one day. 🙂

    Comment by Catherine — January 3, 2013 @ 12:15 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

