K2inCanada's Blog

January 24, 2013

Day 9: From the Town of the Noisiest Motel to Revelstoke – Dawn Mountain (Dec 30)

Filed under: BC Ski Trip 2012, Canada, Ski, Travel — K2 in Canada @ 7:34 AM

All night long people seemed to come back to their rooms and talked noisily in front of their doors for a while. Why could they not just quietly hop into their beds? In the morning we got woken up by the neighbour warming up his big diesel truck for about an HOUR – what an …. I felt tired and cranky and wasn’t really looking forward to another ski. The sky was grey with low hanging clouds. And guess what, it was freezing out. -18C with the windchill (never mind there was no wind) – brrr! At least they said it would be “warming up” to -7 by mid day. So we delayed getting up to the skiing area a bit by stopping in for breakfast at the Big Bend Cafe. Great food and well worth it – a place the locals come for breakfast. After breakfast I felt a whole lot better and was ready for another day on skis. We weren’t really sure what to expect from Dawn Mountain. Mind you, the club had hosted Canadian Masters Nationals last year so there should be some good trails. The drive up there was mostly in clouds but just before we reached the Kicking Horse Resort we broke through the clouds into some sun. Yeah! The Nordic Club had a really nice, big cabin with a nicely groomed stadium area right out front – completely flat – where people were learning to skate (I should have joined them but I wasn’t feeling like skating today rather some easy classic skiing. The trail system was quite extensive as well with a nice mix of green and blue trails (few black ones that could easily be avoided). The trails fee again was only $9. I put on my Peltonen. My fingers hardly worked in the cold trying to tighten up the shoe laces – why can’t they use velcro for those? Jeff took off on his skates skis on what was supposed to be an easy green trail (Beaver). I followed slowly in behind. Man, that green trail was more of a Whistler green – lots of ups and a few gentle downs. I thought this might become a short ski for me as my legs turned to rubber early on. But once I warmed up it got better. After Beaver were a couple more green trails that went mostly down and were really fast and had a few decent turns in them. All I could think about was my face getting numb and that I had to climb all this back up :-). Then I hit the long blue trail (Raven) which was again up and down following the mountain side. Not any worse than Beaver really just longer. By now I was having fun. Views were few and far in between because of the clouds covering up the valley below and the mountains tops but it was really nice skiing on perfectly groomed trails. Even had okay grip. After I finished the “long” trail Raven, I had only gone about 10km. So I kept skiing some of the inner trails – offering some different but also nice scenery going gently back and forth along the mountain contours – great for double poling. By the end of it I had covered 20km without even noticing it. Another 2hrs 45min on skis that day without feeling too tired afterwards. Maybe I am now fully recovered from my cold? Back at the cabin I had to wait for Jeff though – so I went for a walk to take more pictures after I warmed up in the cabin for a bit. But man was that cold!!! It’s one thing to ski in the cold and at least stay somewhat warm vs. walking out in it. It NEVER warmed up to the -7 they promised.

I was looking forward to the next part of the drive through Glacier National Park – I have been through it in the summer a few times and it is a beautiful park. Unfortunately it was already getting late by the time we got into the park and there were still a lot of clouds mixing it up with some sunny sections. A great drive though nonetheless. It was pitch dark when we arrived in Revelstoke. First we wanted to check in with our friends Alex and Leah who own Glacier House Resort – a place people come to for snowmobiling. As expected this was their busiest week of the year and both of them had to work. So we ended up only stopping in for a quick chat with Alex in between him parking snowmobiles. They were fully booked out as well and we went to find a place in town to stay. Alex had offered us to stay in one of his staff rooms if we couldn’t find anything in town. The first place we drove into just gave away their last room but the second place, Mountain View Motel, a bit off the main drag still had rooms. So we got a nice room for $75 + tax. Only bad part – internet wasn’t working for us – or maybe that’s a good thing :-). By now we were starving – breakfast had been good but except for a couple cookies on the drive we hadn’t eaten since then. We had seen this Steak and Pizza place on the drive into town and walked back to it. Lucky us – we were just in time for getting the last table without a wait. Food was really good – it started with a trip to the salad bar before our main entrees. Good selection of salads and veggies! Only the plates were a bit too small :-). The main dish though filled us up well enough. The night was nice and quiet.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking and checking back often!

    Comment by Verla — May 2, 2013 @ 5:19 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

