K2inCanada's Blog

April 3, 2013

Rest in Peace

Filed under: Germany — K2 in Canada @ 10:17 PM

Today my Oma passed away. She just turned 96 in February. I saw her last in May of 2012 on a short trip back home to Germany and she was doing great that day. I am glad that is how I get to remember her. She always was a very strong woman. She lived through the 2nd World War and raised 4 children. My dad was born during the war. She lived to see 8 grand children grow to middle age and I lost count of how many great-grand children to become teenagers. It always seemed that family was the most important part of her life. As I grew up we got together every Wednesday afternoon for coffee and cake. Christmas lunches were a huge event each year. She made the most wonderful turkey and gravy! Although what I remember most of all were those wonderful cakes she made. Nothing like the stuff you can buy around here. Now I wish I would have asked her for those recipes … I wish could have told her a lot of things … Rest in peace – you sure made a difference in all our lives!

Oma

Talking about family, I am very excited that my parents are visiting us again this year. They will be doing a trip around southern Ontario to see Niagara Falls and then take the train to Vancouver. And my niece is thinking about coming to Vancouver for a few month after she finishes school this year. Jeff is looking forward to all the German cooking he may get to enjoy…

1 Comment »

  1. What a great picture of you both! and I can see you have some good genes. 🙂
    Family is certainly a blessing, and we continue to benefit from memories and what we learned, even when our elders are gone.
    Hugs to you.

    Comment by Catherine — April 4, 2013 @ 1:19 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

