K2inCanada's Blog

January 10, 2014

Trip before the Big Trip – Dec 14/15

Filed under: Canada, Ski, Travel — K2 in Canada @ 11:16 PM

More rain in the forecast for Vancouver and too warm for any snow in our local mountains. So we packed up the car, picked up Jeff’s skiing buddy Guy and his “ex”-girlfriend Trish and headed towards Kamloops to ski at Stake Lake which is maintained by the Overlander Ski Club. I had only been there for loppets – this time I was going to enjoy the trails. Over the past few days they had posted reports about moose sightings on the trails up on the website! I was very excited… We left the Saturday morning and were on the trails by 11:30AM. It was overcast and windy but not as stupidly cold as the forecast had predicted the day before (they just can’t get it right this winter…) – in the trees protected from the wind it was right on balmy. I skied for about 3hrs45min on my classics (used crowns because of the mild conditions) and covered about 30km but NEVER saw the moose. Cowpoke – Sidewinder – Ponderosa – Little Joe – Drifter – Cowpoke. I did see some wildlife though,  a little weasel in winter coat skirted off the trails into the woods on Ponderosa – too quick for my own camera but I found a fitting picture on the intranet. We spent the night in Merritt.

On Day 2 we had the same temps and wind but SUNSHINE. I should have skated that day but also wanted to make it up the lookout trail today (which almost killed me last year in my very first skates loppet). So I was lazy and put on my crowns again. And I did make it up to a beautiful view over Lac Le Jeune: Cowpoke – Sidewinder – Ambush – Lookout – Ricochet – Sidewinder – Drifter – Little Joe. When I finished the ski almost 3hrs later the boys were already in the cabin but Trish was till out. So I did put on my skates. Just when I was going to leave Trish showed up. But instead of not skiing we did a couple of laps around Stake Lake together so that I can at least say I skated on this trip :-). We left around 3PM to get through the Coquihalla before it got dark. Great quick trip before the big trip we had planned for the Christmas break.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

