K2inCanada's Blog

April 2, 2014

I did something (almost) unimaginable this morning

Filed under: Canada, Home, Kayak, Sport — K2 in Canada @ 11:04 PM

… I ran into work. Jeff had been trying to get me to do it for some time. I hate running!!! With all my heart. Worse with a backpack full of stuff – thinking the whole way my yogurt is going to spill all over my work clothes, which it did not. But last night I got so frustrated with my laziness – not making it to the lake after work on one of the nicest days of the year so far, not even manage to go for a short run along the river to catch the sunset, or at least go to the gym to do something – that I decided today would be the day I run into work. PUNISHMENT! Okay, it’s only about 6km and most of it along a pretty nice trail along the Fraser (would be all of it if the trail wouldn’t be partially closed for dyke construction) but for a non-runner like me that’s equivalent to a half marathon. It took me about that long! Mind you it was a great morning for being outside. Nevertheless, I hurt most of the day and it took about 2hrs for my face to change back to it’s normal color. Some people seriously asked where I got this awesome sunburn from – tomato face!!! My colleagues sure liked me running in as it took about half a day for me to recover enough to chase after them again for their project deliverables.

Am I going to turn into a runner – never!!!  This afternoon I did managed to get out of work early enough for a nice 12km paddle on the lake – just so I don’t have to run again tomorrow :-). Balance is improving, now I only need some fitness back.

This link – http://theoatmeal.com/comics/running – though almost made me want to run, before today that is. The thought of being able to eat even more chocolate and chips was very tempting – before today!!!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

