K2inCanada's Blog

June 6, 2014

Bang, Bang and Big Fish – May 10-11 Fishing Trip

Filed under: Canada, Fishing, Travel — K2 in Canada @ 7:10 AM

Last year was the first time we ever fished Hosli Lake and all I could remember was the pretty rough drive into it – see post https://k2incanada.wordpress.com/2013/05/12/do-you-want-to-change-to-pedestrian-mode/. This time we checked google map and saw another way in. So we tried that one. Started out fine. Hardly any mud holes. Except for one which wasn’t too bad looking either. What was bad was the innocent looking cattle guard we had to cross right after that not so bad looking mud hole. Bang … bang, we bottomed out the truck twice on the non-yielding solid steel cattle guard. We checked right away but no fluids were leaking out of the bottom anywhere and the exhaust sounded like usual so we continued on. Road got a little bit narrow and steep but no more disasters. When we arrived at the lake – by the way it had been raining the whole drive up – and unloaded the truck I noticed that we did damage something: Ripped off the trailer hitch power plug – why they designed that piece made of plastic to be lower that the actual hitch made out of solid steel doesn’t make sense to me. Oh well – we have yet to use it once.

But that was the end of bad things happening that weekend. We got a great campsite right on the lake. Only neighbours were two friendly guys and their two kids and a dog. This lake can get quite busy – this time they were all day trippers though. And while I set up camp not only had the rain stopped, the sun actually broke through the clouds and stayed with us for the rest off the day on and off. This time I decided to fish right away rather than going for a walk. It started out slow for me and I tried to ignore Jeff who was getting quite a few. He was fishing really deep and I had it in my head that I can’t cast such a long leader. So I napped a lot while sitting in my float tube in the sun not catching fish – very relaxing :-). Finally I decided to join Jeff and try to go deep as well – 20+feet. I left the float off – the real traditional way of fly fishing – and eventually figured out how to get my line out. I was holding onto the fly while getting my line moving and completely out of the water and released the fly the last minute. Only hooked myself a couple times. From then one Jeff and I were hitting fish big time. We had double headers with fish in the 16-22in range one after the other. It was awesome!!! Nobody else caught fish like us. Well worth the broken trailer hitch :-).

Day two started overcast but cleared up pretty quick turning it into an even sunnier and warmer day. Finally needed to stretch my legs a bit and went for a walk around the lake to end up on the original muddy road we drove last year. It still looked muddy but less intimidating than going back over the cattle guard again. Didn’t see much of wildlife unfortunately only tracks of bear and deer and coyote. Still a good walk.

I spent the rest of the day hanging out on the edge of the lake just reading and napping in the sun. Lazy bum, I know but I think I just needed it. Could have stayed forever and when we finally packed up we drove out the original muddy road – slow but no more damages.

 

2 Comments »

  1. Was it catch and release fishing, or shall we be expecting a dinner invite? 😉

    Comment by Krista — June 6, 2014 @ 9:26 PM

  2. Sorry, they all went back in to fight another day 🙂 But there is always salmon in the freezer….

    Comment by K2 in Canada — June 7, 2014 @ 6:46 AM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

