K2inCanada's Blog

November 22, 2014

Back to the usual

Filed under: Canada, Hike, Kayak — K2 in Canada @ 7:15 PM

Yep, it had warmed up again and the rain was back for most of the week. Today though we woke up to sunshine lighting up our orange walls in the bedroom – I am so glad we painted it that colour. But this warmer weather still means there is no snow in the local mountains to ski on, sigh! So Jeff was back for one more roller ski up Seymour and I could check out my mushrooms one more time. Despite it being sunny where we live, the mountain top was in the clouds. And even though it was 2.5C and no snow on the ground in the parking lot, I did get snowed on 3 times during my 1hr40min hike. Well, most of it was more like light hail than actual snow but near the end I could see real snow flakes. All the lakes up there are frozen but melting again along the edges. Maybe we will get snow soon – temperatures only need to drop by a couple more degrees for it to stick. Some of it already stuck to the trails. And my mushrooms are GONE. The trails were surprisingly empty for the amount of cars in the parking lot. They were testing all the ski lifts and getting ready for ski season. Let it begin…

The sun dragged me out again in the afternoon for a paddle on the lake. Took my friend Jodi’s K1 today which is more stable than mine and I did not have to worry about balance. Really nice paddle into the sunset at 10C. Jodi and I had paddled surfski together last Sunday leaving from Deep Cove for a just over 1.5hrs loop into Burrard Inlet. She had not been in a boat for quite some time, battling a sore back. But the paddle seemed to help. Or maybe it was just the sun and fresh air :-).She was going really strong and I was working keeping up with her.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

