K2inCanada's Blog

January 18, 2015

The shadow of Mount Baker – Jan 15

Filed under: Canada, Home — K2 in Canada @ 9:14 AM

This past week, on Thursday, I saw the most incredible sunrise I have ever seen while riding my bike into work. It started out with this orange-yellow glow along the horizon framing Mt Baker and the Fraser River looking like molten iron. I thought for a second about turning back and getting my camera but was too lazy. I regretted my decision only minutes later as the sun rose closer to the horizon – still below it though – and the puffy clouds in the sky turned all pink. I realized that there was a dark break in the otherwise pink sky. Mt Baker was blocking out the rising sun and casting its shadow across the sky. Wow – now I really wished I had my camera. I saw the shadow get smaller and smaller by the minute and than disappear. By the time I got into work barely 10min later the sky was back to normal. What an incredible experience and a good way to start off the day.

The below pictures aren’t mine – found them on the internet and am thankful to the unknown people posting them. As always, pictures only do what I experienced partial justice – I saw the shadow start right at the tip of the mountain – but if you add your imagination maybe it will do.

sunriseJan15_2 (Medium)

sunriseJan15_7 (Medium)

The shadow is getting smaller

The shadow is getting smaller

 And if you are like me and don’t just want to see the beauty of it but also understand the science about it see the below video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGCXvUVDXU0

1 Comment »

  1. Awesome! That is amazing.

    Comment by catherine — January 18, 2015 @ 12:40 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

