K2inCanada's Blog

March 8, 2015

2 sunny paddling days

Filed under: Canada, Kayak — K2 in Canada @ 7:01 PM

The beautiful weather continues. There had been some rain in the forecast last week but we never saw. Jeff put our skis away for good. That meant I had two days this weekend to go paddling.

On Saturday I went to Burnaby Lake. Rode my bike there and back – a hilly 28km return. Our club had a boathouse cleanup day as well as an organized master’s practice. I took the super lancer not wanting to fight my bad balance the whole time. We had about 10-12 people out for the practice. Coach Wes did a good job. We started of with some paddling technique and then did a little bit of a work out (5 x 4′ on at stroke rate 80 easy, 1′ off, 2′ on at stroke rate 80 with power 2′ off). It was fun but I am really out of paddling shape. Mind you I felt better near the end of the 90min practice than at the beginning – maybe I just need more time in the boats. Lots more that is. Unfortunately no pictures.

And while I was enjoying a sunny paddle on the lake, Jeff completed his very first trail run race – the Dirty Duo. He was subbing in for a friend who hurt his ankle a couple of weeks ago on one of their training runs. To me the stats for this race looked near impossible to do: 27km, 1838m elevation gain on not easy terrain (I sweat buckets hiking just parts of it). He finished 28th overall out of the 117 that completed the course in just a hair over 3hrs. The last 3rd of the race he was mostly walking due to cramping calves. Incredible result if you ask me!!! Below is a map of the race course together with the 18km paddle Jeff and I did today in Indian Arm on a nice calm beautiful sunny awesome… day :-).

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

