K2inCanada's Blog

October 12, 2015

Yippie – I can wash my face again

Filed under: Canada, Fishing, Hike, Home — K2 in Canada @ 3:35 PM

The title may be a bit misleading – I had been able to wash my face all along but needed to hold myself up using my arms to do it. Bending over without support wasn’t possible for almost three weeks after I pulled my back on Sept 21st in the worst way. For 3 days I could not lay down, sit, stand or walk, I was in so much pain. Even took pain killers which I usually never do for this type of injury in an attempt to at least be able to sleep. No good! I didn’t sleep the first two nights because of the pain not matter which position I tried to roll myself into. I wasn’t able to ride my bike to work for a whole week – that has NEVER happened before. Recovery was very slow this time around although in week two I started to be able to move again and week three I was back in the gym doing some light core stuff. Did some small hikes but any uneven ground still posed difficult till last weekend. Also last weekend – Oct 3/4 – was my very first paddle since early September – that’s almost a month out of the boat – unheard off for me. To make up for all this lost paddling time, I had to go last Wednesday as well in the pouring rain and dusk :-).

What started it? No idea. We spent a great day fishing the Sunday before. See pictures below. Maybe it’s just age. I hope not. Being immobile like this is no good for my mental health. All in all I haven’t been my physical self since we came back from the backpacking trip in early August. Below a summary of all the small adventures since our paddling trip to Brooks Peninsula Sep 4-11.

Sep 12 – supposedly the start to our salmon fishing season this year fishing the Fraser for Pinks. Except there were no fish, just a pretty sunset.

Sep 19th was a wet day – most of September seems to be much more wet than other years – and I went for a short hike in the rain up at Cypress Bowl. The forest is beautiful when it is misty up there but there are no views.

Sep 20th was the actual start of catching salmon season. It was another wet and windy day but we still went out. And it was well worth it. The worst of the rain subsided in the afternoon and it was actually quite nice and I was happy to be outdoors.

Sep 26/26 weekend: The first hike I tried to 1st lake from the Seymour Mtn parking lot was not such a great idea as the footing was very uneven even if there is very little elevation gain. I felt 1oo years old walking slowly along the trail being passed by everyone. The walk along the Fraser the following day was already a bit better – flat and even. Walking slow is great for picture-taking and it was one of those few sunny days in Sep when I get surprised how many flowers are still around.

First real hike after the incident – Black Mountain on Oct 3rd. It’s up but the trail is quite even and well maintained. And I went for my first lake paddle that day.

And since I felt great after the Saturday short hike & paddle I went for another longer paddle last Sunday morning, Oct 4 followed by an afternoon walk which kinda turned into a small hike. A colleague of mine had told me that he had seen a bear in one of the local small regional parks. Usually we don’t consider those worthwhile going since there are no 1000m elevation hikes but it seemed a good idea to try during my recovery. And it only took 10min before we ran into a mother bear and her two cubs. They did not pay us much attention but walked off into the bushed. I was surprised since we saw them on a trail close to the parking lot and there were a lot of people in the park. Overall I was quite impressed by Minnekhada Park in Coquitlam. Nice trails, not all flat at all, beautiful vistas and of course bears on cue :-).

No paddling pictures since I was on my own in a K1. Only picture that I took was on the rainy Wednesday. Great evening for a paddle don’t you think? :-).

P1190084 (Medium)

2 Comments »

  1. What?! And you didn’t call me on that Wednesday? I’m usually free on Wednesday evenings!
    (you know I jest, right? Fair weather person, that I am).

    Comment by Krista — October 14, 2015 @ 9:31 PM

  2. Back pain is the WORST! I have had good luck with these guys: http://mskhealthandperformance.com/ and http://www.maxfitmovement.ca/about/team/wilbour-kelsick/

    Comment by Catherine — October 16, 2015 @ 8:27 AM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

