K2inCanada's Blog

January 16, 2016

Day 7: Kimberley Jan 1

Filed under: BC Ski Trip 2015, Canada — K2 in Canada @ 6:11 PM

Happy New Year – although it just felt like any other day. It was still cloudy in Invermere. We had a quick brekkie in the room before we hit the road to Kimberley. It took 1.5hrs to get there and it was still cloudy. 50 meters higher up the hill there was sun, for a short while. It was -16C. Tracks were in excellent shape as always. I did 3 laps of skating on the usual green 6.5km loop until my foot got sore on the last lap when I was passed by Jeff on his classic skis for the 2nd time. Not good for my ego!:-). He wanted to do one more lap. So I had to continue on as well even though I was ready to quit and did another 3km lap. At least I managed to finish my 3km before is 6.5km this time :-). Overall skating felt hard and awkward but I did work on my 2 skate or V1 or whatever you call poling on each ski.

The drive to Rossland was nice although the Hwy was a sheet of ice through Kootenay Pass. Took over 3hrs but we did not run into any trouble. As always, we stayed at Casa Alpina because it has a hot tub. But we were too lazy to use the hot tub – it’s outdoors and takes more effort to get into. Instead we headed out for dinner to eat at the Rock Cut Pub which is just 5min drive away near Red Mountain Resort. Unfortunately you can’t walk there as it is along a pitch black highway with snowbanks along it and I don’t want to get run over. We had calamari to start followed by meatloaf for me and pulled pork mac and cheese for Jeff. Was really tasty.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

