K2inCanada's Blog

March 20, 2016

Spring is here

Filed under: Canada, Hike, Kayak — K2 in Canada @ 11:07 PM

Winter actually ended with some nice warm sunny days. 13C on Friday. I finally made it out for an evening paddle to the lake after work. Has been a long week…didn’t really get to see the sun all week other than through glass.

Saturday was still pretty nice and Jeff and I went for our first surfski paddle of the year. It was a calm day in Deep Cove other than the boat traffic. Felt good. Tuesday night races are only a tad over 2 weeks away.

P1190690 (Medium)

Just in time for the first day of spring the rain was back. Pretty much all day. But I really needed to get out to get some more fresh air. So I dragged Jeff over to the North Shore for an early season “hike” along the lower Mt Seymour trails. Well, I was hiking in hiking boots and heavy rain coat while Jeff was walking with his umbrella and reading a book at the same time. I have no idea how he does it. I take my eyes of the trail ones and almost twist my ankle. We hiked/walked for a couple hours through the rain. The benefit of that kind of weather – the trails are not as busy. We only saw about 5 people running/hiking and about 10 bikes. And we did get some really fresh air.

The rain lessened somewhat in the afternoon and I went for a K1 paddle on the lake. It was nice a calm and I had the lake all to myself – not a big surprise at 5:45PM on a rainy Sunday. Tried to do a speed workout but my speed sucks! Oh well, if I actually manage to keep at it this spring it might improve.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

