K2inCanada's Blog

January 15, 2017

First Loppet 2017

Filed under: Canada, Ski — K2 in Canada @ 8:25 PM

I survived the first loppet of the season – barely. 34km at the Reino Keiski Salmi Loppet at Larch Hills in Salmon Arm. Since I had a cold over the Christmas ski trip I didn’t get nearly as much skiing in as I would usually do and I felt in. Mind you we did get one night ski in at Cypress on Jan 5 and one long ski last weekend, Jan 7, at Callaghan in the bright sun which was nice. Finally they had all the trails groomed and Brandywine View and Mountain View were quite nice.

On top of this loppet being long, it was also very cold!!! Nice and sunny but -17C in the morning when we drove up. Might have warmed up to -15C when the loppet started. I wore the most clothes I have ever worn in a loppet and felt sluggish and slow – well, I was sluggish and slow. The 70 year olds passed me right at the start. I caught up to them again near the top in the sun and we traded places a few time, only to find out that those 2 only did the 17km and not the 34km. So I was on my own for the 2nd lap and slowed down even more. 3hrs23min. My worst time EVER!!! Skis worked well though – thanks to my wax tech Jeff. He did the whole loppet double poling – crazy as it is not all flat – and beat me by an hour:-). You can tell who the skier is in this family.

We spent the night in Kamloops with a nice Souvlaki dinner at Harolds and then going to the movies. “Passengers”, a SiFi love story but good entertaining and some nice special effects. Worth going I think. We finished up the evening with hot chocolate and rum in our cozy motel room.

Today on the way home we stopped in at Overlander. Temperatures had improved to a balmy -9C. I thought I would be more tired but the ski was quiet nice – most trails were in the sun and it felt much warmer. I kept my eyes open for moose or bobcat or hermine but saw none. Lost of tracks though on the trails. And again, my wax tech picked the right wax for me. Thanks!

 

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

