K2inCanada's Blog

February 19, 2017

A more average winter weekend at home

Filed under: Canada, Kayak, Ski — K2 in Canada @ 6:34 PM

For once, no loppet. Nice to have a break. But off course we still went skiing – to prep for the Payak next weekend. 30km for me, 50km for Jeff. It was a warm, between 0C and 2C, and wet ski yesterday at Callaghan. The snow was quite slushy, the tracks soft. I tried my grip tape, no grip. My wax tech suggested klister, no grip, but I tried hard to make it work. Finally, after 11km of cursing I switched to my crowns. They worked just fine! And I managed to get 32kms of skiing in. The sun tried to come out but by the end it was raining/lightly snowing. I don’t think Jeff and John finished their goal of 50km, or at least I hope not, as they got back to the car before I did :-).

Today was an overcast, 7C day on the coast, light rain on and off. What did we do? Sleep in, watch humming birds and go for a paddle mid day. It was a bit breezy out in Deep Cove but Jeff was feeling much better than last weekend and we pushed a bit harder – well I pushed quite a bit harder. Only 6 weeks left till the first Tuesday Night Race :-).

It’s just nice to get out for a bit after a long short week at work!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

